DriverGuide
English Português Español Deutsch Français 中国 Italiano 日本語 Translate
  


DriverGuide Forums



Go Back   Free Drivers Download | Request and Support Forums > Computer Hardware Forums > Modems (300-56K, ISDN, Cable, DSL, ...)

  #1  
Old 08-15-2005
registered
 
Posts: n/a
Thumbs up get modem speed fater

To Boost up your internet Connection on Dial-Up!
For:
WinME Win95 and Win98

*``~!~``*--={ To do this click on your start button, then go to Search then open up Dial Up
Networking, then right click on your connection,Go to Properties then where tha modem iz
located(Tellin you wut modem you are using)Hit Configure, Next click on Connection, and
locate tha Advaced button click on it and see where it says Extra Settings Type This:

at&fx

Then hit apply, then close it out, and disconect from your internet, and then start it back
up...your connection speedwill be 5 times more...It made mine boost up from 45,200BPS to
115,200BPS }=--*``~!~``*

For:
WinXP WinCE and Win2000

*``~!~``*--={Right click on "My Computer" then go to "Properties" then go to "Hardware" then go to
"Device Manager" then go to "Modems" Then select that tab so it scrolls down, then go to
your modem, and right click and go to "Properties" then go to "Advanced" Then in tha box
saying "Extra Settings/Extra Initialization Commands" type in that box

at&fx

then click ok then ok again and exit out of everything, disconect from tha internet and
reconnect and you will be connected at a faster speed. you wouold be connected at 42,200KBPS
and now your new connection will be 100,200KBPS}=--*``~!~``*

By:
Usman Naseer

[email]usman_naseer18@hotmail.com[/email]
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
    
  #2  
Old 08-15-2005
Unregistered
 
Posts: n/a
Default Myth

This does not speed up the modem.
It tells the modem to report the DTE Data Terminal Equipment (computer-to-modem) speed "com port";
not the true connection speed, DCE Data Communications Equipment (modem-to-modem).

This myth makes its rounds every few years as new people discover the misinformation and think they have found something new.
Its the same with many computer myths.

Do you really think if it were true a speed increase like that would go unnoticed all these years, except by you.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-23-2005
Unregister
 
Posts: n/a
Exclamation Re: Myth

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unregistered
This does not speed up the modem.
It tells the modem to report the DTE Data Terminal Equipment (computer-to-modem) speed "com port";
not the true connection speed, DCE Data Communications Equipment (modem-to-modem).

This myth makes its rounds every few years as new people discover the misinformation and think they have found something new.
Its the same with many computer myths.

Do you really think if it were true a speed increase like that would go unnoticed all these years, except by you.
this guy is on to something, because AT&F0 is the setting ever since the modems were invented. you have to give him credit for inovation!
heck, for all we know, next he may get a hold of an AT command instruction sheet and become a terorist or policeman or something....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-24-2005
Knowledge is power
 
Posts: n/a
Default Must know what he is talking about.

AT&F; resets the modem to factory settings.
AT&Fn; n being a valid number;
Adding a valid number, 0,1,2, ect. to the end tells the modem to load a stored profile. Some old hardware modems can have 4 or more profiles.

Some old modem AT manuals used the X as a variable for a valid number for a stored profile.
If you use the X instead of a valid number this causes an error and the modem reports the DTE speed (com port).

AT&F0 tells the modem to reset and load the 0 profile.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-19-2005
Unregistered
 
Posts: n/a
Question Re: get modem speed faster

will it work or not plz reply peeps

Angel
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-04-2009
sweetwater sweetwater is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1
sweetwater is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up Re: get modem speed fater

It seems to have worked for me. My modem is an Agere Systems PCI Soft Modem, 2.1.6.0 and I was previously getting 33.6 kbps at best. After typing in AT&FX, my modem speed seems to be 57.6 kbps.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-04-2009
Jerry K's Avatar
Jerry K Jerry K is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 37,070
Jerry K is on a distinguished road
idea Re: get modem speed fater

45,200 I might believe (or even 57.6) ..... but 115,200 is physically impossible.

The limit of 45Kb or so is regulated by the fcc, not by the modem, it's software or firmware, your isp, or some command.

When Windows is reporting 115,200, it's lying. If you don't believe it, download and time a 1 MB. file.
The time it takes to download the file, using either setting, will be nearly identical.
Reply With Quote
Reply [Upload Driver/Firmware]



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modem Connection speed Unregistered Modems (300-56K, ISDN, Cable, DSL, ...) 6 12-10-2005 10:41 PM
modem speed Unregistered Windows 98 2 02-23-2005 09:02 AM
modem driver driver2 UNIX / Linux 1 12-21-2004 04:04 PM
modem Motorola 6421-51 Andres Modems (300-56K, ISDN, Cable, DSL, ...) 1 11-16-2004 08:56 PM
modem speed ?(design) mayday51 Modems (300-56K, ISDN, Cable, DSL, ...) 2 08-02-2004 12:26 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:36 PM.



2017 DriverGuide is an iCentric Corporation Company.     All rights reserved.    


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.0.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.