DriverGuide
English Português Español Deutsch Français 中国 Italiano 日本語 Translate
  


DriverGuide Forums



Go Back   Free Drivers Download | Request and Support Forums > Operating System Forums > Windows Vista

  #1  
Old 04-25-2005
Danny.F
 
Posts: n/a
Question Setup Longhorn in dos mode?

Ive got the longhorn cd copied to my hard drive so I cant set my pc to boot from cd, so is there anyway to start longhorn setup in dos mode? cos i need to format my pc but dont want to risk it until I know if it will install in dos mode or not.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
    
  #2  
Old 04-25-2005
Jerry K's Avatar
Jerry K Jerry K is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 37,070
Jerry K is on a distinguished road
idea why not install longhorn like it was designed to be installed???

From the installation disk. That's the normal accepted method. Why would you attempt what might be a difficult or impossible task by installed it the non-accepted method when it's so easy to do it the right way first?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-25-2005
Danny.F
 
Posts: n/a
Default I dont have the CD!

If i had the CD i wouldnt be asking. Its a long story but to get to the point, I dont have the CD. I do however have it on my hd. Thats my problem.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-27-2005
wapvirus
 
Posts: n/a
Default

LongHorn dos install will be very hard as longhorn uses ntfs file system and dos don't recognise ntfs
also longhorn comes on a bootable dvd rom so you need to burn a dvd image to get that working mate
i have installed longhorn on my virtual pc and i cant see what all the fuss is about stick with xp at least that is stable longhorn that is out at the moment is a trial 120 days
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-18-2005
PCMedic
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Setup Longhorn in dos mode?

I am testing the new Vista Beta, and right now there aren't a whole lot of options or drivers out there to get creative. You do need to burnit as an ISO file to DVD, and then boot up your PC with the DVD set as 1st bootable device in your BIOS. Make sure you uninstall any anti-virus software you have first. The new beta will NOT install with an AV program running,. even in stealth mode. At least that's been my experience. Stick w/ XP Home SP1 as the best stable OS right now.
Reply With Quote
Reply [Upload Driver/Firmware]



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pavilion n3310 hard drive setup Unregistered Notebooks 3 10-12-2007 10:04 AM
MS-DOS Compatibility Mode Problems BESS Storage Devices (Hard drives, tapes, ...) 21 10-24-2006 12:20 AM
True DOS under XP?? Unregistered Windows XP 1 04-16-2005 01:33 PM
pavilion 780d cannot get pass safe mode jim Windows XP 0 11-11-2004 05:12 AM
Sound problems in Dos for Windows 2000 Ater Audio & Multimedia 0 04-16-2004 01:31 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:07 PM.



2017 DriverGuide is an iCentric Corporation Company.     All rights reserved.    


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.0.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.