downloads
 drivers & firmware


PDA

View Full Version : E-mail Spam


   
 
 
NEW
01-25-2004, 05:52 PM
After giving you my brand new e-mail for making an account, my first mail was porn spam.......which must of been directed from your site!!

Jerry K
01-27-2004, 12:13 PM
We assure you that we do not want anyone to receive undesired solicitations/SPAM. We only deal with highly reputable services which have opt-in policies that entirely prevent unwanted solicitations without your approval. We are troubled by your suggestion that we may have directly or indirectly been the cause of your e-mail address being used and we will look into the matter further, by reinvestigating our promotional partners. We will have a couple of our developers go through the signup process and see if they receive SPAM as a result.
One other possibility I would raise, which you may not have considered, most mail services (at least all of the ones I'm familiar with, Yahoo/Hotmail/mail.com/etc.) SPAM their own accounts, that is, they distribute advertising offers to their own users, obviously to generate money for the service, over and above banner advertising. I am not sure if that may be what happened to you, or if that is the policy of the site where you created your mail account. :)

Author of this document: Quincy -Administration

Raf
03-06-2004, 08:19 PM
I agree.I have been utilising driverguide.com for a few years.may i suggest that , since u were looking for a driver, what if u tried some other sites before trying DG?i know of some sites that, even though they supply drivers,they also offer the porn thingie.then again, the latest virus that hit us.ok, u prob p!$$ed at me by now, not saying it's not DG, but very highly unlikely.

DG utitiser

We assure you that we do not want anyone to receive undesired solicitations/SPAM. We only deal with highly reputable services which have opt-in policies that entirely prevent unwanted solicitations without your approval. We are troubled by your suggestion that we may have directly or indirectly been the cause of your e-mail address being used and we will look into the matter further, by reinvestigating our promotional partners. We will have a couple of our developers go through the signup process and see if they receive SPAM as a result.
One other possibility I would raise, which you may not have considered, most mail services (at least all of the ones I'm familiar with, Yahoo/Hotmail/mail.com/etc.) SPAM their own accounts, that is, they distribute advertising offers to their own users, obviously to generate money for the service, over and above banner advertising. I am not sure if that may be what happened to you, or if that is the policy of the site where you created your mail account. :)

Author of this document: Quincy -Administration

Unregistered
05-02-2004, 10:51 AM
some spam can be sent to a similair but not exactly ur email address

sometimes i get emails sent to me that are actully sent with a different email addy like super.smurf@domain instead of smurf@domain

my kids (age 6) only use isp email address for maccas & kzone sites and they get porn too!

petedageek
06-07-2004, 08:28 PM
If u r a tech then you know that of what your speak is bogus. Spammers have ways of hitting u even when u have the best defenses up.
1) Don't blame the obvious- tech people know that isn't alway the case
2) Duhhhh set up spam blockers in ur email client and thru ur ISP, ever isp out there boast of some email filter that helps block spamers- USE IT!
3) stop being cheap get a 3rd party blocke and instal it and use it AND
4) MOST IMPORTANT--- READ before you click OK- most pc users don't read the fine print and inadvertantly agree to marketing junk and then blame everyone for their lack of diligence

Unregistered
06-17-2004, 03:25 PM
If you set up a brand new e-mail account and are getting porn spam, check and see if your name is on your providers public directory, thats where spammers get most of their e-mail addresses. I know that yahoo and hotmail automatically add you to the directory unless you go into options and opt out

Unregistered
03-20-2006, 01:39 AM
I am also a new user (signed up at Driver.com) I messed up when I signed up because I clicked on the offer to give my name address and phone number to some college with online services. The phone calls started and lasted a week, until my wife and myself got sick of being called all hours of day and night. I told the guy that called, I was not interested, that all I wanted was a driver for my computer. I know this site has to generate income from somewhere, but give me a break. enough is enough!
d_may

PizzedOff
12-20-2006, 04:43 AM
I agree with the first post. I have a virtual domain, so I make up fake email addresses for every service I sign up for. I signed up here using dguide@my.domain (meaning Driver Guide, duh.), and I started receiving SPAM to that address. This address is not published anywhere, only Driver Guide has it. Driver Guide is not to be trusted.

dg are spammers
06-16-2007, 10:08 AM
Yep, I signed up using driverguide@my.domain too and have also started receiving spam to that address.

The best thing about having separate emails for each service is that it shows who sells email addresses to spammers, as it has here, and it is also easy to block all mail to that address. Consider it blocked.

Sort it out driver guide guys.

Jerry K
06-16-2007, 11:52 PM
Ok members you may be right. But to find out who's responsible we need to know which options you chose when you signed up. We will need to advise the advertising partner. It would help if we could figure out which offers the users who experienced this problem had opted into, ie: Aptimus or other?

Each member who signs up needs to let us know which advertising partner is betraying driverguide.com and it's members. Once we have adequate info, then we can get it stopped. Please post your info in this thread.

Sorry folks, I too am a victim of approx. 200-250 spam emails per day so don't feel like your the only one.

Jerry K

johnnyboy187
10-25-2008, 11:10 PM
I am also a new user and well and behold i got 11 spam emails instantly to my brand new hotmail i made for this to get my driver. Sad service indeed. I will not be coming back

Artie
03-22-2009, 12:21 AM
In re: spam & DG service, heres a tip, Become a member, pay a yearly fee, it makes EVERYTHING faster, easier, and after a decade of being a freebee moocher, I learned that anything I need is quickly sent to my HD if so desired.
I have never had any DG spam sent to my mailbox, inbox, but I also have spam sorter activated, but theres nothing in it !? And NO, I did NOT choose any of the sponsers offers when I decided to pay for a DG membership, after all, Im paying DG now...Obviously, if you select to be informed about a product, offer, you will be informed !! In any case, DG remains the top dog when it comes to finding hardware drivers for legecy computers. After Vobis de BBS went belly up, besides gettin lucky at a FTP site, here is where your going to end up anyway, all roads lead to DG....give them credit, or your credit card number...:>):hdspin: